Home » Uncategorized » Unity

Unity

Hi everyone, today I’m actually going to be posting on John 10:7-21. This is because my family and I read it today and we got some wonderful things out of it.

Therefore Jesus said again, “Very truly I tell you, I am the gate for the sheep. All who have come before me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep have not listened to them. I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved. They will come in and go out, and find pasture. 10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. 12 The hired hand is not the shepherd and does not own the sheep. So when he sees the wolf coming, he abandons the sheep and runs away. Then the wolf attacks the flock and scatters it. 13 The man runs away because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep.

14 “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me— 15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd. 17 The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. 18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”

19 The Jews who heard these words were again divided. 20 Many of them said, “He is demon-possessed and raving mad. Why listen to him?”

21 But others said, “These are not the sayings of a man possessed by a demon. Can a demon open the eyes of the blind?””

In this passage, Jesus is telling the Jews about The Good Shepherd. He begins by saying that He is the gate for the sheep, and all who enter through Him will be saved. He then goes on to say that there were some before him who were thieves and robbers that tried to hurt the sheep. The thieves and robbers Jesus was referring to were the Pharisees. The Pharisees stole the chance of eternal life away from the people by telling them that they must follow six hundred laws in order to be saved. They divided the people, telling them that Jesus is not the right way.
Next Jesus goes on to talk about the thief. The one thief who is father to all the other thieves. Satan, according to verse 10, has come to steal, kill, and destroy. He only wants to hurt the sheep by enticing them out of the pasture, and separating them from each other and the Shepherd. But Jesus, the Good Shepherd, gives the sheep eternal life to the full. He unites the sheep by laying down His own life for them.
Jesus continues on to talk about the hired hand. He says that the hired hand cares nothing for the sheep, and therefore abandons the sheep in their time of need, letting the wolves scatter the flock. But Jesus loves the sheep so much that He laid down His life for them. He was mangled by the wolves of all the sheep’s sin, so that they wouldn’t have to be. He united the sheep by laying down His own life for them.
Lastly Jesus says that He knows the sheep. He knows and loves them even as God the Father knows and loves Him. Jesus is saying that He loves the sheep with the same love that His Father gives Him. How amazing it must be to be a sheep in that flock. But we are sheep in that flock! We have been loved and nurtured by our Good Shepherd, who loves us as much as the Father loves Him. Jesus has united us under one Shepherd, in one Flock. He says in verse 16 that there are other sheep He will soon collect. Jesus was referring to the Gentiles. Jesus united the Jews and the Gentiles in one flock, under one Shepherd, who laid down His own life for them. Isn’t it amazing to be loved by the Good Shepherd? Isn’t it great to be united under Jesus?

Next week I will (hopefully) be posting on Ephesians 2:1-10.

2 thoughts on “Unity

  1. Pingback: This is an amazing thing | Stepping Toes

Leave a Reply

