Home » Uncategorized » Following

Following

Hello, God has given me something today in 1 Kings 19:20 which says,

“Elisha then left his oxen and ran after Elijah. “Let me kiss my father and mother good-by,” he said, “and then I will come with you.” “Go back,” Elijah replied. “What have I done to you?”

This reminds me of something in the New Testament, Mathew 8:21-22 says,

“Another of the disciples said to him, “Lord, let me first go and bury my father.” And Jesus said to him, “Follow me, and leave the dead to bury their own dead.”

Elisha wanted to kiss his father and mother good-by, and the man in the passage above wanted to go burrie his father, Mathew 10:37 says,

 

“Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.”

Jesus is not saying that we are not suppose to love our mom and dad, He is saying that we are not to love them more than Jesus, and Elisha was loving his parents so much, that he wanted to put off going with Elijah (God’s prophet) and kiss his father and mother.

We are to follow Jesus, but it is not of our doing, Jesus died on the cross for us, so that we can follow Him. Jesus died on the cross for us, so we don’t have to, He chose us to be a part of  His kingdom, that is why I don’t like the song, “I have decided, to follow Jesus…” we don’t decide to follow Jesus, He chose us before time, and died on the cross redeeming us from sin!

We are to love our parents, but we are to love Jesus more, because He payed the price for us on the cross. People might wonder, ‘If God is such a perfect God, then why do we have sin?” we have sin, so God could show His wonderful love to us, at the cross.

Leave a Reply

