Home » gospel » Can’t pay?

Can’t pay?

Hello, God has given me something in 2 Kings 15:20 which says,

“Menhahem exacted the money from Israel. Every wealthy man had to contribute fifty shekels of silver to be given to the king of Assyria. The king of Assyria withdrew and stayed in the land no longer.”

A shadow: This is a shadow of the gospel, not a perfect replica. Menhamem payed the king of Assyria, to gain his support and strengthen his own hold on the kingdom. It would take ten wealthy men in Israel to pay the king of Assyria.

The gospel: (This is a shadow of the gospel) Jesus died on the cross for us and took our sin, but how is the verse in 2 Kings like the gospel? We were not one of the wealthy people (this is only a shadow) but lets say our parents were, and sinned our way into poverty, so they charge us to pay fifty shekels of silver, we can’t pay, what are we going to do!?! We can’t ask our parents, because they are paying the fifty too. We are helpless, and hopeless, then Jesus comes along, and He pays for us, He died for us, and let us live. Thank You Jesus!

Jesus: Jesus came to (or make us) save, serve, show love, and (make us) sinfree. He is the perfect, holy, righteous, wonderful, awesome, sinfree, hope giving, loving, almighty, great, powerful, Son of God, and He gave His own life for a bunch of law-breaking, un-holy, un-righteous, horrible, badsome, sinful, hope needing, hating, weak, impotent, wretches, so that we could live.

Closing prayer: Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for loving me so much, thank You for giving Your life for me, and for letting me know about how You gave Your life for me. I pray that I would love You more, and share Your love with those around me. I pray that I would know more about You, and talk with You more. I pray that I would be kinder to others around me, and love the, more. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

