Home » gospel » Father and son

Father and son

Hello, God has given me something in 1 Chronicles 17:13 which says,

“I will be his father, and he will be my son. I will never take my love away from him, as I took it away from your predecessor.”

Nathan: God is talking to Nathan the prophet, and God is telling Nathan to tell David that David wouldn’t be the one to build the house and that all the enemies of Israel would be defeated by God, and that Israel would be like God’s son and God their Father. How cool is that? Having God as your dad. The Israelites were sinful, like we all are, that’s why God told them to offer sacrifices; so that God would not pour out His wrath on the Israelites.

Our condition, the problem: Our condition is horrible. We are so sinful. No lamb, ram, or bull could atone for our sins, we deserved death. But then, Jesus came down and became all the sins of the world and died on the cross for us. He died in our place, no matter who you are or what you’ve done, God will still accept you into His kingdom. Not through your works (Galatians 2:16) for works without faith is dead, but through believing in Jesus Christ.

Now: Remember what I said about how cool it would be to have God as our father? He is! Jesus came down to die on the cross and for those who believe in Him, make them children of God. Now we are children of God. Now we can keep on sinning, right? Wrong. Jesus died so that in Him we might be the righteousness of God (2 Corinthians 5:21), and we can’t if God can’t even look on us because we are so sinful. That doesn’t mean we can’t sin, because we have flesh, but we have died so the sinful nature.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for giving Your only son for us on the cross. Thank You, Jesus, for giving Your life up for us on the cross. I pray that I would love You more. I pray that I would be able to rejoice in time of suffering. I pray that I would be closer to You. I pray that You would use me as an instrument of grace. Thank You for making us Your sons and daughters. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Verses and passages:

Righteousness of God, 2 Corinthians 5:21,

“God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.”

Works can’t save you, Galatians 2:16,

“know that a person is not justified by the works of the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ. So we, too, have put our faith in Christ Jesus that we may be justified by faith in Christ and not by the works of the law, because by the works of the law no one will be justified.”

Beginning verse, 1 Chronicles 17:13,

“I will be his father, and he will be my son. I will never take my love away from him, as I took it away from your predecessor.”

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

