Home » gospel » I have sinned

I have sinned

Hello, God has given me something in 1 Chronicles 21:17 which says,

“David said to God, “Was it not I who ordered the fighting men to be counted? I, the shepherd, have sinned and done wrong. These are but sheep. What have they done? LORD my God, let your hand fall on me and my family, but do not let this plague remain on your people.”

The story: David had just sent Joab out to count the fighting men, and even though Joab told him that God would be able to increase the number, and that it was wrong, David overruled Joab. This was evil in God’s eyes, David pleaded for mercy, and God told him (through a prophet) to pick one of the three choices as punishment. David chose the plague, but God had mercy and told the death angel to stop. When David saw the death angel and he and the elders fell face down. David pleaded with God to stop the plague, and instead to punish him and his family. David bought a threshing floor and all the things needed to make a sacrifice, then he sacrificed, and the death angel put his sword back in his sheath.

The shepherd: David called himself the shepherd that had done wrong. David wasn’t the only shepherd that shepherded humans. Jesus is the other shepherd that does that. He shepherds us. But Jesus didn’t sin, so how does this apply? And also, if we’re sinful, then how can we possibly still be alive right now? Because Jesus became sin for us, and even though He never sinned, in God’s eyes He had the appearance of sin. He died in our place. Jesus became sin for us, and He took the punishment for us. Thank You Jesus!

Application: How does this apply to us? We are the sheep, and Jesus died in our place, making us perfect in God’s sight, why? Not because of anything we’ve done, but because of what Jesus does and did. He died on the cross in our place, and every day He shepherds us. We can go to Jesus if we need anything. Thank You Jesus!

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for giving Your son to die in our place. Thank You, Jesus, for becoming sin for us. Thank You for giving us Your red robes of righteousness. I pray that I would love you more. I pray that I would draw close to You, and that You would somehow get the gospel to the whole world! I pray that I would think of You today, Lord. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a comment