Home » gospel » Many blessings

Many blessings

Hello, God has given me something in 1 Chronicles 26:5 which says,

“Ammiel the sixth,
   Issachar the seventh
   and Peullethai the eighth.
   (For God had blessed Obed-Edom.)”

Many: Obed-Edom had been blessed by God because the Ark of the Covenant was with him for some time, and what was one thing he was blessed with? Children. Obed-Edom had eight children. Obed-Edom had God in his house for a little, and he was blessed. Everything that he owned was blessed. Obed-Edom had 62 descendents in all.

Us: Before I’ve said that we are horrible, spiteful, cruel (etc.) and we deserve death. If we deserve death, then why aren’t we dead? After all, we are so evil that we are the devil’s “best” friend. We could not even be seen by God without a perfect sacrifice. So why aren’t we in hell?

Jesus: Jesus is the reason we are not in hell. Why? He came down, became sin for us, and died on a cross for us. He gave His own life for us so that we could live. Now we are the sons and daughters of God! We went from being mean and spiteful, to being the children of God. Now we are the righteousness of God. 2 Corinthians 5:21 says,

“God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.”

Sin: Now that we are God’s children and Jesus paid for our sin, we still cannot willingly sin! Why not? Because as Christians we need to, and can, control our bodies unlike the heathen. We are children of God now.

Application: How does this apply to us? We have many blessings now, because Jesus died for us on the cross. He took the curse off of us and gave us the blessing. Galatians 3:13 says,

“Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a tree.”

Hung: Jesus was hung on a tree when the Pharisees and Pilot or anyone but God had any legal charges against Him. What was God’s charge? Our sin. Jesus took on our sin and died for us on the cross for us with our sin. Jesus took the curse for us and gave us the blessing of heaven, and being children of God and co-heirs with Christ. Jesus now lives in our hearts, and we are the temple of God.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for giving Your only son to die for us. Thank You Jesus for giving us You blessings and taking our curse. I pray that I would love You more, and follow You example. I pray that You would live in me, and give me Your Holy-Spirit. Thank You for going to the cross in our place, and giving Your life for me. I pray for other believers who may be struggling or those who are being persecuted, that You for fill them up with You, and that they would be able to stand firm in You. Thank You for giving Your life for me. I pray that You would keep us close to You. I pray that I would love You more, and that I would be kinder to those around me. I pray that I would rejoice in time of suffering. Thank You for letting me be a child of God. I pray that You would spread Your word throughout all nations. I pray that You would open the eyes and hearts of people to the gospel. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

