Home » gospel » My name

My name

Hello, God has given me something in 2 Chronicles 7:15-16 which says,

“Now my eyes will be open and my ears attentive to the prayers offered in this place. I have chosen and consecrated this temple so that my Name may be there forever. My eyes and my heart will always be there.”

God: God said that He would listen to the prayers offered in the temple. He said that He would open His eyes to them. God would watch over the Israelites, and listen to their prayers. God also said that He would always have His name at the temple. His eyes and heart would always be there. God would listen to them in the temple, and He would see their sufferings, or joyful praising.

The unholy: We are very unholy, and unworthy people. We do not deserve to have God’s name anywhere near us. We should die and go to hell. So why haven’t we? Why haven’t we gotten what we deserve (dying and going to hell)? Is it because we are really nice? No, we can not atone for our sins by ourselves. Who did? Jesus. Jesus came down to earth, became sin for us, and died on the cross for us. He actually loved horrible wretches so much, that He died for us in our place.

Application: How do the 2 Chronicles verses apply to our lives? Jesus died for us in our place, making us the temple of God. Now God lives inside of us, He has put His name in us. He eyes and heart will always be in us, as long as God gives us faith to believe in Jesus. Does this mean we can sin all we want because Jesus atoned for our sins? BY NO MEANS! We are God’s temple, and God’s temple should be free from sin. We still have flesh, but in the power of God, we can control our bodies. The heathen can not control themselves, they fall into sin so easily, that they never actually get out.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for giving Your son to die on the cross for us. Thank You, Jesus, for atoning for our sin. I pray that You would let me grow in You, and help me to love You more. I pray that I would follow You, and be willing to die for You. Thank You for letting me be able to experience Your love. I pray that I would be able to stand firm in You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

One thought on “My name

Leave a Reply

