Home » gospel » Burdens

Burdens

Hello, God has given me something in 2 Chronicles 10:13-14 which says,

“The king answered them harshly. Rejecting the advice of the elders, he followed the advice of the young men and said, “My father made your yoke heavy; I will make it even heavier. My father scourged you with whips; I will scourge you with scorpions.”

Rehoboam: Solomon had just died, and Rehoboam is now king. The people had asked the king if he would be kind, and lighten the heavy burden Solomon had put on the people. Rehoboam asked the advice of the elders, and they told Rehoboam to lighten the burden, but Solomon rejected their advice, and asked the advice of the young men who had grown up with Rehoboam. They told Rehoboam to make the load heavier on the people, so that is what Solomon did.

The devil: The devil is evil. He seeks to steal, kill, and destroy. He roams about seeking whom he cam devour. We were Satan’s subjects, we were caught in his traps of sin. We were as helpless as a fawn caught in a metal bear trap. We were bound to go to hell, because we were caught in the sin traps of Satan.

Savior: Yes, we were bound for hell. Yes, we were going to Satan’s kingdom. But, there was a savior. What is the savior’s name? Jesus! Jesus came down to earth, became sin, and died on the cross for us. Jesus actually gave His own life for us, so that we may live. Now, we are bound for the promised land, we are headed toward heaven, all because Jesus came to die on a cross in our place.

Application: How does the 2 Chronicles verse apply to our lives? Satan was king over us. He had us in his kingdom, and he was not going to rule any easier, or take any of our burden off of us, he was only going to make it heavier. But then, Jesus came and took our burden. He came and crucified our sin on the cross. Mathew 11:28-30 says,

 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for giving Your son to die on the cross for us. Thank You for taking our burden. I pray that You would give me strength. I pray that I would follow You, love You more. I pray that You would help me to talk with You more, and draw close to You. Thank You for blessing my life so much. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

