Home » gospel » Requested and granted

Requested and granted

Hello, God has given me something in Nehemiah 2:8 which says,

“And may I have a letter to Asaph, keeper of the royal park, so he will give me timber to make beams for the gates of the citadel by the temple and for the city wall and for the residence I will occupy?” And because the gracious hand of my God was on me, the king granted my requests.”

Nehemiah: Nehemiah was sad because the place where his ancestors were buried was in ruins. Since Nehemiah was the cup-bearer for the king, the king noticed his sadness. He asked Nehemiah why he was sad. Nehemiah told him why, and asked if he could go and rebuild the place. He also asked for a letter so that he would be protected up to Judah, and for another letter so that he could be given timber. Because the gracious hand of God was upon Nehemiah, the king granted his requests.

Christians: We were once unbelievers. We were struggling in our sins, lost. We had no hope by ourselves. But, Jesus came down and went to the cross, and cried out for us. He asked God to forgive us, and He became the sacrifice for us. Now we are saved. God will grant our every need. If we earnestly seek Him, He will grant our needs. Why not come, and be saved? He will love you too, and He will be with you. Be forgiven. Nehemiah requested protection from the king, and we can request protection from the king and He will answer. Come, and be forgiven.

What to do: Here is one thing that we are to do as Christians: Build the church of God. This is very important. Nehemiah asked to rebuild the place where his ancestors had died, and so should we. We also need to build our foundation on the Cross. That is where we were saved. Jesus gave His life for us, and saved us.

God: God is holy, and mighty. He is loving and kind. Like King Artaxerxes He listens to our requests. When a sinner sees his sins, and asks God for salvation and a new life, God grants that request. He makes us new creations (2 Corinthians 5:17). Praise God, and give Him thanks. Love Him and praise Him. Give thanks to Him with a grateful heart, because He gave His own son to die for us. Thank You, Lord! Trust in Jesus, for He loved/loves us so much, that He gave His own life for us!

Application: How does Nehemiah 2:8 apply to us? Nehemiah asked that He could be given timber to rebuild. We should ask  God to give us faith, to build our foundation with. We should take our faith and build at the place where our savior died, the Cross. We should build, with faith, our foundation there. Ask God for faith, to be the building logs for our firm foundation. He will grant your request, and will give you faith. Thank You, Lord!

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for giving Your son for us. Thank You for loving us so much. Please give me more faith in You Lord. Help me to draw close to You. Help me to build my foundation in You, and at the foot of the cross. Please help me to grow in You, and help me to be more and more like You. Thank You for making me Your daughter. Please strengthen me, and other believers who may be struggling. Please send a revival. Thank You for doing so much for me. In Jesus name, Amen.

Verse(s):

New Creation, 2 Corinthians 5:17,

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!”

Beginning verse, Ezra 2:8,

“And may I have a letter to Asaph, keeper of the royal park, so he will give me timber to make beams for the gates of the citadel by the temple and for the city wall and for the residence I will occupy?” And because the gracious hand of my God was on me, the king granted my requests.”

Why not come, and ask God for faith today? He will save you.


Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

