Home » gospel » If I perish

If I perish

Hello, God has given me something in Esther 4:16 which says,

““Go, gather together all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my attendants will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish.” “

Esther: Mordecai put on sackcloth and wailed through the street. He was not supposed to go through the gates with sackcloth and ashes on. When Esther heard about it, she sent one of the King’s eunuchs that was assigned to her to bring him some clothes and ask him what was wrong. He refused to put on the clothes, but told her what was wrong. He eventually asked her to go to the king. The first time she refused. No man or woman was allowed to the King unless they were summoned. If she went without being summoned, she would die, unless the scepter was extended. Mordecai said that just because she was in the palace, she wouldn’t be the only Jew to survive. He said that deliverance would come from somewhere else, and that her father’s family would perish. She told Mordecai to gather up all the Jews and fast, like she would, for three days. Then she would go.

Christians: Esther is going to risk her life for the people, to possibly save them. Christians are God’s people, and we have been saved. Jesus came down to earth, and died on the cross, saving us from sin. He has saved Christians from certain death in hell. Why not come and be saved? Why not become a Christians, and believe in the one who has given His life for you? Jesus has died for you and me on the cross. Why not believe in Him?

What to do: Here is one thing, in application to this passage, that we are to do as Christians: Trust in Christ. Mordecai has to trust in Esther, and fast with the other Jews. He couldn’t discount her, and what she had asked Him to do. We can not discredit Christ for saving  us. We can not forget about Him, and say that we worked for our salvation. Christ has saved us, and we need to believe that, and trust in Him. Our works are a result of being saved, not the cause of being saved. Trust in Christ!

Application: How does Esther 4:16 apply to us? We were like Mordecai, in ashes, the ashes of our sin. We needed a savior. Then our savior came. Esther told Mordecai to fast, then she would go. Jesus came, and He gave His own life for us as the sacrifice. He died on a Roman torcher stick, to be our sacrifice. He became the all atoning sacrifice for our sins. Esther might die, by going to try to save her people. She would try to save them. Jesus did die for us. He became our sacrifice!

Jesus: Jesus is so good. He gave His own life for us. Now, we should give Him thanks. We should praise Him, and rejoice in Him. God has given His only son, whom He loves, to die on the cross for us. He put all of His wrath on Him, to save the ones who have sinned. He saved us by giving His only son for us. Praise  Him, and thank Him for all that He has done for us. Thank You, Jesus. Jesus, the sacrifice for our sins, then rose again on the third, and eventually ascended on high, to heaven.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for loving me. Thank You for making me clean. Please help me to love You more. Thank You, Jesus, for perishing for our life. Please help me to know You more. Please help me to draw close to You, and long to be with You. Please help me to grow in You. Please help me to become more and more like You. Thank You for making me Your daughter. Thank You for giving me so many blessings. Please help me to be more thankful. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Verse(s):

Beginning verse, Esther 4:16,

““Go, gather together all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my attendants will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish.””

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

