Home » gospel » The Stricken Intercessor

The Stricken Intercessor

Hello, God has given me something in Job 16:10 and in Job 16:20-21. For now, I’m focusing on Job 16:10 which says,

“People open their mouths(A) to jeer at me;(B)
    they strike my cheek(C) in scorn
    and unite together against me.(D)”

Job: Job was saying that people opened their mouths to jeer at him. He said that they struck his cheek in scorn. They united together against him. They struck him, jeered him, and united together against him. Job also said that they were all miserable comforters. He said that he could have said the same things if they were in that position, but he would have comforted. He said that he wouldn’t have been as un-comforting as they had.

Christians: Christians have been saved from sins. We are no longer in bondage to it. But, unbelievers are still drowning in sin. If you are an unbeliever, then why don’t you come to Christ, and be saved from sins? Why not be saved from sins by Christ? He is mighty to save, and He will deliver you from the hand of the evil one. So, come to Christ, and be saved from your sins. Why wouldn’t someone want to come to Christ. Why wouldn’t someone want to be saved from sins. We are all in the sea of sin. We were/are all drowning in the sea of sin. There seems to be no hope for us. But, then, we see Christ coming. He comes to us, and if we reach out our hand just a little, He takes it and lifts us into the boat where we are fed and clothed in His righteousness. Unbelievers are like those who are trying to swim to shore. They are miles away, and they could never make it by themselves. So, if you are not believing in Christ, why don’t you come to Him and be saved?

What to do: Here is one thing that we are to do as Christians: Help others! There are so many in the sea of sin, so, let’s get in the boat, and go to show them Jesus, and if they reach out there hand, Jesus will save them. So, let’s help others to see the savior. He got into the sea, and He gave us the last spot in the boat, while He died in our place. So, let’s help them to come see Him.

God: God is so good. He has given His own son for us. He loved us so much. Let’s love Him, and give our lives in devotion to Him. Let us praise Christ for giving His own life for us on the cross. He gave His life as a perfect, holy, sinless, atoning sacrifice, to save horrible, sinful, angry, evil, despising, spiteful, wretches. He took on our sin to save us. Let us praise Him, and worship Him with all of our hearts. Let’s give thanks, and love Him. He has done so much for us. He has given us the Holy-Spirit. Let’s praise Him!

Application: How does Job 16:10 apply to us? Well, that’s where verses 20 and 21 come in,

“My intercessor(A) is my friend[a](B)
    as my eyes pour out(C) tears(D) to God;
21 on behalf of a man he pleads(E) with God
    as one pleads for a friend.”

Jesus was our intercessor. They struck Him (Mark 14:65). But, because He was stricken, and because He died for us, He became our intercessor, and now, He intercedes for us, on our behalf. Now, we are saved, and Jesus is interceding for us.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for sending Your son for us. Thank You, Jesus, for interceding for us. Please help me to be more thankful. Please help me to walk with and talk with You more. Please help me to grow in You, and more like You. Please help me to love You more, and draw close to You. Thank You for loving me so much. Thank You for saving me, and making me Your daughter. Thank You for blessing me so much. Please help me not to be proud. Please strengthen me in You. Thank You for letting me be able to talk with You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Verse(s):

Struck, Mark 14:65,

“Then some began to spit at him; they blindfolded him, struck him with their fists, and said, “Prophesy!” And the guards took him and beat him.(A)”

Intercessor, Job 16:20-21,

“My intercessor(A) is my friend[a](B)
    as my eyes pour out(C) tears(D) to God;
21 on behalf of a man he pleads(E) with God
    as one pleads for a friend.”

Beginning verse, Job 16:10,

“People open their mouths(A) to jeer at me;(B)
    they strike my cheek(C) in scorn
    and unite together against me.(D)”

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

