Home » gospel » Sacrifices

Sacrifices

Hello, God has given me something in Psalms 4:5 which says,

“Offer the sacrifices of the righteous
    and trust in the Lord.(A)”

The Psalmist asked God to answer to him (the Psalmist) when he (the Psalmist) called out. He asked God to relieve him from his distress, and give him mercy, and hear him. Then the Psalmist said to tremble and not sin. He said to offer sacrifices of the righteous and trust in the Lord. In order to atone for sin, they had to offer sacrifices. That is what would atone for the sins of the people… for a day. The animal was still not enough to atone for the sin forever, so they had to offer them daily.

So, if they had to offer sacrifices to atone for their sin, then why’d we stop? Oops… does that mean that God’s wrath will come upon us? Actually, no. Why? Because God sent His son to die for us on the Cross. How does that help? On the cross, Jesus had our sin on Him. When He died, He took our sin with Him. When He rose again, He left the sin in the grave, so to speak. But, unbelievers are not trusting in Christ as their savior. So, if you are an unbeliever, then why not come to Jesus? He will save you, and make you clean. God will make you his child. So, come to Christ, and be saved from your sin.

Christians should help others to see their sin. We need to help them see their error, and the savior. They need to see how far they have fallen (like in the sermon a few days ago) and they need to see the savior. Let’s help them to see Christ. We shouldn’t be Gospel-hogs, we should be those who give the Gospel to others, so that they might come to know Christ, and be saved.

Christians also need to praise the Lord for all that He has done for us. We need to give thanks, and love the Lord. So, let’s worship Him, and praise Him. Let’s love Him, thank Him, praise Him, worship Him, and rejoice in Him. He is our Lord, who has given His Holy-Spirit to us. He has filled us up with inexpressible joy and inexpressible love. Let’s give our lives in service to God!

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for giving Your son for me. Thank You for loving me so much. I pray that I would love You more. Thank You for making me Your daughter. Thank You for filling me up with Your Spirit. Thank You for saving me. Please help me not to be proud. Please help me to be more thankful. Please help me to walk with You and talk with You more. Please help me to draw close to You. Please strengthen me in You. I pray that I would have a longing for Your word. Please help me to run to You when I’m in trouble, and need help. Thank You, Jesus, for being my atoning sacrifice. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Verse:

Beginning verse, Psalms 4:5,

“Offer the sacrifices of the righteous
    and trust in the Lord.(A)”

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

