Home » gospel » Just a Hand breadth

Just a Hand breadth

Hello, God has given me something in Psalms 39:5,

“You have made my days a mere handbreadth;
    the span of my years is as nothing before you.
Everyone is but a breath, 
    even those who seem secure.[a]”

David is saying that God made his life so short. He said that everyone was but a breath. That doesn’t seem like it’s true does it? At least one person has had more than one breath in their life-time.  How can we live as long as a hand breadth? But, David says that everyone is only but a breath, even those who seem secure.

We are only a hand breadth normally. We were wicked, and we deserved to die. Our life was short, before we had life in hell, which is worse that life. So, why haven’t we died? We are we still alive? Because there was a sacrifice that saved us. Although in God’s eyes our lives are just a hand breadth, we have eternal life in heaven! We can live with our savior in heaven!

Unbelievers life is just a hand breadth. If you are an unbeliever, then why don’t you come to life? Jesus will save you if you come to Him. He is the way, truth, and life (John 14:6). So, come to Jesus and be saved, and loved, and filled with joy. Come to live longer than a hand breadth.

Praise God! He has given us eternal life (John 3:16). He has loved us, so let’s love Him! Jesus gave His life for us, so let’s be willing to give our lives for Him. God has done so much for us! Let’s give thanks with all of our heart! Praise the Lord! Thank You, Jesus!

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for giving Your very own son for us. Thank You for making me, a horrible wretch, Your daughter. Thank You for cleansing me, and making me new! Please help me to be more thankful to You. Please help me to do more for You. Please help me to grow stronger in You. Please help me to praise You more. Thank You for all the blessings You have given me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Verses:

Way, truth, lifeJohn 14:6,

“Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

Eternal life, John 3:16,

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

Beginning verse, Psalms 39:5,

“You have made my days a mere handbreadth;
    the span of my years is as nothing before you.
Everyone is but a breath, 
    even those who seem secure.[a]”

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

