Home » Uncategorized » Delight in Commands?

Delight in Commands?

Hello, God has given me something in Psalm 119:35 which says,

“Direct me in the path of your commands,
    for there I find delight.”

The Psalmist is asking God to direct him in the path of God’s commands, because that’s what he delighted in. But how? Obeying the law by ourselves perfectly, is impossible. So why did David want to live in the commands of God? Because of the sacrifices. He knew that if he offered a sacrifice, his sins would be atoned for, and he could walk in the commands of God and say,  My sins have been atoned for.

We can do what David did! On our own, living in commands and being judged and told that we don’t measure up isn’t what we’d want. But, Jesus became our sacrifice! He died in our place, and now we can walk in the path of God’s commands, and we can say, The Sacrifice that gave His life for me has atoned for my sin! We can walk through Satan’s accusations and point to God! We can delight in the commands of God because we know that in Jesus, we have kept them all!

We have been set free from our sin, and now we delight in God’s commands. We praise Him, because He has saved us! We can walk with Him now! Praise Jesus for atoning for our sin! Give thanks that we can walk in God’s commands freely! We can walk “in the light”, because Jesus is in us. 1 John 1:7 says,

 But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all[a] sin.”

Praise God!

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for saving me! Thank You, Jesus, for atoning for my sins! Thank You for letting me delight in Your commands, knowing that I’ve already kept them in Jesus! Please help me to walk with You, and on Your path more. Please help me to draw close to You. Thank You for all the wonderful blessings You have poured out on me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

