Home » Uncategorized » Astray

Astray

Hello, God has give me something in Psalm 119:67 which says:

“Before I was afflicted I went astray,
    but now I obey your word.”

The Psalmist is saying that he had gone astray, or disobeyed God, and then God afflicted him, and now he obeys God’s word. So, simple discipline helped him to start obeying God’s word. Now, he would strive to be perfect, and when he failed utterly he could believe that the sacrifice would save him.

We are like sheep gone astray, Isaiah 53:6 says:

“We all, like sheep, have gone astray,
    each of us has turned to our own way;
and the Lord has laid on him
    the iniquity of us all.”

We all have gone astray, yet we haven’t been punished for our sin. Why? Because Jesus was. He died on the cross in our place, and He saved us! We went astray, but Jesus took our punishment! Now, when we wander casually aside from the path, God disciplines us in love, Proverbs 3:12 says:

“because the Lord disciplines those he loves,
    as a father the son he delights in.[a]”

We all like sheep have gone astray, and Jesus (our shepherd) has brought us back. John 10:11 says:

““I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.”

Jesus laid down His life for us. We went astray, and yet Jesus was afflicted for us! He took our sin and shame, and then He took the punishment for it. Thank You, Lord!

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for loving me so much. Thank You for bringing me back when I went astray. Thank You, Jesus, for being the Good Shepherd, and laying Your life down for me. Please help me to love You more. Please help me to give thanks more. Please help me to spread the Good News of what You’ve done for me to others! Thank You for all that You’ve done for me, Lord. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

