Home » Uncategorized » Keeping from Evil

Keeping from Evil

Hello, God has given me something in Psalm 119:101 which says:

“I have kept my feet from every evil path
    so that I might obey your word.”

The Psalmist is saying that he had been perfect so that he could obey God’s word. But, that isn’t true. David had sinned MANY times. So, what is this really talking about? Jesus. I know, I know, how can the Old Testament point forward to the new when they didn’t even know who Jesus was? 2 Peter 1:21 says:

“For prophecy never had its origin in the human will, but prophets, though human, spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit.”

So, this is pointing forward to Jesus. Jesus was perfect, and He obeyed every law of God. Then, He did something amazing. He died because of sin! But He was perfect, so how could he die from sin? Because He took our sin, and He died in our place! We deserved to die because of sin, Romans 6:23 says,

“For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in[a] Christ Jesus our Lord.”

We should have died, but Jesus died on the cross for us! He loved us so much, that He kept completely from evil, and He died on the cross in our place. None of us could have been perfect without Him, but He gave us His righteousness, and took our sin. He loved us so much that He died for His enemies! John 15:13 says:

Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.”

Jesus had great enough love that He laid His life down for His enemies! Praise the Lord! Jesus, thank You!

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for loving me so much that You gave Your son for me. Jesus, thank You for living perfectly just so You could die a horrible death for me, Your enemy! Please help me to spread the Good News to others. Please help me to come to You and be cleansed in You every day. Please help me to love You more. Thank You for everything, all the blessings and love, that You’ve given me! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

