Home » Uncategorized » Don’t Leave Me

Don’t Leave Me

Hello, sorry I haven’t posted the last few days, we were out on a skiing trip.

Today, God has given me something in Psalm 119:121 which says:

“I have done what is righteous and just;
    do not leave me to my oppressors.”

The Psalmist is asking God to not leave him alone to his oppressors. But, the Psalmist also says that “I have done what is righteous and just” he is saying that he is righteous. That is not true. What he is really talking about, is Jesus. He is pointing forward to Jesus, who is righteous and just, and who does do what is right. Jesus asked God the same thing in the Garden. Luke 22:42 says:

““Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.””

Jesus also asked God, basically not to be left with His oppressors. He didn’t want to drink the cup of God’s wrath, just like the Psalmist. But, Jesus went a step further, He didn’t leave it at asking God not to have to be oppressed, He actually surrendered. He knew He was going to have to pay the price. The Psalmist asked God to be saved, and left it at that. He was only a foreshadow of Jesus.

Jesus did drink the cup of God’s wrath! He died on the cross in our place! He came to earth, and died on the cross with all of our sin on Him! He died in our place. He did what was righteous, and yet He paid the price for our sins. Now, we can ask God not to leave us with those who oppress us. We can run to Jesus, and say, “Look to Jesus. I know you are oppressing me, but I still love you, because Jesus does.” Jesus prayed that God would forgive those who were oppressing Him. Luke 23:34 says:

“Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.”[a] And they divided up his clothes by casting lots.”

The disciples left rejoicing when they had been persecuted. Acts 5:41 says,

“The apostles left the Sanhedrin, rejoicing because they had been counted worthy of suffering disgrace for the Name.”

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for saving me from my sin. Thank You for loving me, even though I was sinful. Please help me to spread the Gospel to others, even those who may persecute me. Please help me to love You more, and rejoice in You too. Thank You for all the blessing You’ve given to me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

 

Leave a Reply

