Home » Uncategorized » Salvation Through Suffering

Salvation Through Suffering

Hello, God has given me something in Psalm 119:153 which says:

“Look on my suffering and deliver me,
    for I have not forgotten your law.”

The Psalmist is asking God to look at his suffering and deliver him. He wants God to see the suffering, and then ask to be saved, for he had not forgotten God’s law. He is telling God that he hadn’t forgotten God’s law, yet he was suffering. So, he wanted to be saved from his suffering.

We can ask God the same thing. But, not because we have kept God’s law perfectly, but because Jesus has. Jesus came, He kept God’s law perfectly. He suffered on the cross, and while He was suffering, He asked God for something. Not for His own suffering to be gone, but for ours to be gone. He asked God to forgive us! He was suffering for our sin, even though He was perfect, and yet He asked God to save us from suffering! Can you believe that? Jesus saved us from sin!

Now, we can say to God, “Look on Jesus’ suffering and deliver me, for He has not forgotten Your law”. We can ask God to deliver us, but not because of what we’ve done, but because of what Jesus has done! The Psalmist was basing his deliverance on his own good works. But, if we did that, we would be giving rags to a king. We would go to hell. We can be delivered by Jesus! He is our way, and our truth, and our life! John 14:6 says:

“Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

Jesus has saved us from sin! Praise God!

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for giving Your son for me. Thank You for loving me so much. Thank You for letting me be forgiven through Jesus’ suffering. Thank You, God, for all that You’ve done for me! I love You so much, Lord. Please help me to love You more. Please help me to have more faith in You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

2 thoughts on “Salvation Through Suffering

  1. Dear little Joy: You are some girl tackling a blog on the subject of theology. You know, that’s a BIG subject! I am taking this time from a very busy schedule working on several MSS, pioneering my third church in my 61 years preaching the gospel. I have preached Jesus in 49 nations and still making trips once and twice a year at 83. traveling over seas on missions trips. Last month my sweet wife of 62 years went on to be with the Lord before me. My two children and I miss her very much. We have always been a close family and both of my kids love the Lord.

    Joy, if I may, I would like to just make an observation on your article in your treatment of the psalmist saying it was time for God to act because the people had abandoned his law. Please allow me to point out to you, Joy, that the psalmist was making a very pointed accusation against his evil enemies who surrounded him at the time he was writing. there is no reference between what he saying about the disobedience of his enemies that surrounded him in real life at the time he was writing and the cross of our Lord.

    Let me also make another observation that I think will help your thinking toward the law of God and how it relates to the cross of our Lord. Jesus coming to Earth and then being rejected and actually murdered by his religious and political enemies was all required by the laws of redemption. Justice, atonement, law, sin, commandments, plus many other terms in the bible are all legal terms having to do with justice and the penalties of sin. God told Moses that without the shedding of blood there is no remission of sin and that the soul that sins (rebels against the moral law of God) shall die. These are all principles of perfect justice. As Christians we have no fear of the law and we will never be the victims of it so long as walk with the Lord. The law is only a threat to the sinner who does not repent. But as Christians if we sin we need only come to the Lord and confess where we failed Him and he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins.

    Joy, do you have a good bible program on your computer so you can study the text in the original language and consult some of the great men of the church? It’s very important for you to have a good bible program and sometimes read what great men like Finney, Gill or Matthew Henry who knew the Greek and Hebrew as well as the ancient customs and manners of the bible times have to say about a bible text. I recommend e-sword if you do not already have it. It’s very important to know what a bible verse says when you plan to write on it. You can get e-sword free by visiting http://www.e-sword.org and download that program free! It’s very powerful and very easy to use.

    I was an underground missionary to the persecuted brethren in the Soviet Union for 26 years and lived in China 7 years leading many souls to the Lord. I invite you to also visit my web site at http://www.actsion.com I meant for this epistle to be a blessing and help to you because you are quite a young lady to undertake what your doing. More power to you!
    I am the Lord’s happy servant,
    Dr. Bill Burkett

    • Dear bill,

      There is something else I have to tell you: The Psalmist DOES point forward to Jesus and the cross. I’m afraid that if you can’t see the Gospel in every passage, like the Psalms, you can’t see it very well. I recommend going to Knox Seminary http://www.knoxseminary.edu/ maybe that will open your eyes to what the Gospel is.

      Thank you for your time.

      Sincerely,
      Joy

Leave a Reply

