Home » Uncategorized » The Flood

The Flood

Hello, God has given me something in Psalm 124:4 which says:

“the flood would have engulfed us,
    the torrent would have swept over us,”

David is saying that if God hadn’t been on their (Israel’s) side, then the flood would have engulfed them. He said that people would have attacked them and swallowed them alive. But because God was on their side, they were saved. Just because God was on their side.

If God is on our side, then we are saved too! Romans 8:31 says:

“What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?”

But, how do we get God on our side? We can’t, at least by ourselves. So, we are going to be engulfed in the flood of our sin? We won’t have an Ark to save us? There is a way to be saved, and that way is Jesus. John 14:6 says:

“Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

Jesus is the way to salvation! How? By His death for us on the cross! He came down and died on the cross for us, with all of our sin on Him! He took our punishment. Isaiah 53:5 says:

“But he was pierced for our transgressions,
    he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was on him,
    and by his wounds we are healed.”

He died for us! He saved us from the flood! He is on our side, so that we cannot be taken by Satan. He protects us, for He is our Good Shepherd:

““I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. ” (John 10:11)

Without Jesus, we would be like the people in Mathew 9:36:

“When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.”

He loves us so much!

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for loving me so much, so much that You gave Your son for me on the cross. Thank You for saving me from the flood of my sin. Thank You for being on my side, and protecting me in Your arms. Thank You for being my shepherd, and for taking me in Your arms, and carrying me so lovingly, Lord. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

