Home » Uncategorized » Keep the Covenant to be the King

Keep the Covenant to be the King

Hello, God has given me something in Psalm 132:12 which says:

“If your sons keep my covenant
    and the statutes I teach them,
then their sons will sit
    on your throne for ever and ever.””

The Psalmist is telling God to remember the covenant he made with David: That if Davids sons kept the statues of God, then the house of David would always have a man sitting on the throne, forever and ever and ever. So, David’s descendants must have disobeyed, because there is no king of God’s people from the house of David. Or is there?

The answer: Yes, there is a king over God’s people. His name is Jesus. We were unable to keep the statutes, but Jesus was. He kept the law perfectly, and then He gave His own life to save us! He died so that we might live, and become His subjects. We were unable to be perfect, but Jesus bought us with His blood, and now we will be His people forever and ever! We will have eternal life John 3:16:

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

Jesus loved us so much that He died in our place so we could live! Now, when the time of judgment comes, we can point to Jesus, who actually did keep the statutes. He is a mediator between God and us. He is the only way that we are saved! John 14:6:

“Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

Jesus is our savior! Praise God!

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for sending Your son to save me from my sin. Thank You, Jesus, that You gave Your life so that I can live forever with You. Thank You for being my mediator! Thank You, Lord, for loving me so much, even with all the wrong that I’ve done. Please help me to love You more! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

