Home » gospel » Hate Enemies

Hate Enemies

Hello, God has blessed me something in Psalm 139:21-22:

“Do I not hate those who hate you, Lord,
    and abhor those who are in rebellion against you?
22 I have nothing but hatred for them;
    I count them my enemies.”

David was talking to God. He asked God to destroy his enemies. He gave reasons why God should. One was that David hated them. He is asking God to do it for him, and he is reasoning with God as to why he should. He says that he has nothing but hatred for those who rebelled against God. He does not love them at all, and he wants them all to die. He told them to get away from him, and he asked God to destroy them.

Should we do that? Should we ask God to destroy those who hate them, and should we hate them ourselves? It seems like a good idea, right? If they are all gone, then there would be no more persecution of believers. We could just worship God all day long, and everyone else would too. But, God does not want that. If He did, then He would just create us so that we all believed in Him. God does not want us to hate those who do not believe in God. Mathew 5:44-45:

“But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45 that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.”

Jesus told us to love our enemies, that we may be children of heaven. Really, when we are kind to our enemies, we are being like Jesus. Jesus not only loved His enemies, He made them children of God. How? How did Jesus do this when we were so sinful and wretched? With His blood. Jesus came down to earth, and died on the cross in our place. He shed His blood as payment for our sin. He was completely innocent, but He took on our guilt, and gave us His righteousness. We can come to Him, and He will love us. He has saved us!

Now, we should love those who hate us. We should give them the Gospel, so that they can be changed, and love others. When we share the love of Jesus with those who have been hated all their lives, God can change their lives. When they see what Jesus does, they can be changed. Don’t you want everyone to feel what you felt when you were saved?

Dear Father,

Please help me to share Your love with everyone I meet. Please help me to show all who see me what You’ve done for me. Thank You for giving Your son that I might live. Thank You for making me Your child, and giving me righteousness. Thank You for showing me Your love so that I was saved. Please help me to always remember what You’ve done for me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

