Home » gospel » Rescued From Evil

Rescued From Evil

Hello, God has given me something in Psalm 140:1 which says,

“Rescue me, Lord, from evildoers;
    protect me from the violent,”

David is asking God to save him from evil, and protect him from the violent.  He wants to be saved from those who do wrong. It only makes sense, right? We should want to get as far away from evil as possible, shouldn’t we?

Well, if God did that, then we wouldn’t be here. We are evil. We have been sinners since we were born selfish little babies. So, if God went as far away from evil as possible, then we would not be saved. But, instead, Jesus took the cross for us. Jesus came down and became like one of us! And He died on the cross, and shed His blood. He paid for our sins!

Without Jesus having paid for our sin, we wouldn’t be saved. But, because Jesus came down among those who are evil, we are saved. So, we should also go out among those who are wicked and proclaim the Gospel to them. John 17:15-16:

“My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one. 16 They are not of the world, even as I am not of it.””

We should spread the Gospel to those who need. That’s what Jesus did for us, so let’s give it to others. Jesus took our wickedness away, and made us righteous.

Dear Father,

Thank You that You came down and died for me, even though I was wicked. Thank You that You made me Your daughter. Please help me to spread the Gospel to others who need it. Please help me to praise You more. Thank You for saving me, Lord. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

