Home » gospel » Crown of Seaweed?

Crown of Seaweed?

Hello, God has given me something in Jonah 2:5 which says,

“The engulfing waters threatened me,[a]
the deep surrounded me;
seaweed was wrapped around my head.”

Jonah is in the belly of the whale, and he is crying out to God.  He said that the waters threatened him, and they surrounded him. He says that seaweed was wrapped around his head. Kind of like a crown of seaweed. Jonah was trapped by engulfing waters, and he had seaweed around his head.

This is a giant arrow pointing to the cross. Jonah was trapped by water, and he had a crown of seaweed around his head. Jesus was engulfed in our sin on the cross. He was giving His life with all of our sin on it. While He was on the cross, the people put a crown of thorns on his head as “The King of the Jews”. Jonah is a picture of Jesus on the cross. Jesus was on the cross to pay for our sins; He gave His very life that we might live! He paid the price so that we could be children of God!

Jesus was surrounded by those who hated Him. He was engulfed in the pit of our sin. But He still loved us! He still loved us enough to die on the cross for us. He gave His life even though it was because of our sin that He was dying. Thank God!

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for sending Your wrath on Your son instead of me. Thank You that You made me Your child, and that I can come to You whenever I need to. Please help me to spread to spread the Gospel with everyone around me. Thank You for loving me so much more than anyone else. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

