Home » Uncategorized » How Dare You be Gracious!

How Dare You be Gracious!

Hello, God has given me something in Jonah 4:2,

“He prayed to the Lord, “ Isn’t this what I said, Lord, when I was still at home? That is what I tried to forestall by fleeing to Tarshish. I knew that you are a gracious and compassionate God, slow to anger and abounding in love, a God who relents from sending calamity.”

Jonah is angry at God. He is angry because God was gracious to the Ninevites, whom he thought did not think deserved grace. He said this is why he tried to run away, because he knew that God would be gracious to them. In a sense, Jonah is telling God that He is doing wrong by being gracious.

God had just shown Jonah grace. He had just saved him from out of the whale, and later he gives Jonah shade by a plant. But Jonah is still angry at God for being gracious to them.

Instead of being angry when God saves unbelievers, we should rejoice. We were once that way. We were in need of a savior. We we in sin, and we needed mercy. But God sent His only son on the cross, and shed His blood for us. Jesus died for us! Now we need to rejoice when others come to see the Gospel. Let’s rejoice with the angels:

“In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”” (Luke 15:10)

Now, in the same way, we need to be gracious. We need to spread the Gospel to others, and share what God has done for us on the cross.

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for showing me grace even though I didn’t deserve it. Thank You that I can now spread the Gospel to those who need it. Please help me to love You more. Please help me to rejoice when an unbeliever is saved. Thank You for loving me so much! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland

Leave a Reply

