Home » gospel » Blessed

Blessed

Hello, today my sister and I are doing our post together on Zechariah 8:13 which says:

“Just as you, Judah and Israel, have been a curse among the nations, so I will save you, and you will be a blessing. Do not be afraid, but let your hands be strong.””

Here the Lord is blessing Israel and Judah. They had been “a curse among the nations”, They had been cursed, and oppressed by the other nations. But, God promised them a deliverer from their curse so that they would be blessed.

That deliverer is Jesus. He is the one who would deliver the people… but not only from the hands of other nations, also from the hands of sin. He gave His own life for them to be their deliverer.

Several places in scripture call The Lord a deliverer:

2 Samuel 22:2:

“He said: “The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;”

Psalm 18:2:

“The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”

Psalm 40:17:

“But as for me, I am poor and needy; may the Lord think of me. You are my help and my deliverer; you are my God, do not delay.”

However, this deliverer did not just save the Jews or the Pharisees; this deliverer saved the whole world, including the Gentiles! Jesus saved the world because He loves the world and everyone in it (John 3:16-17)

In the last part of the verse it says to “not be afraid” and to “let your hands be strong”. This is an exhortation to Believers. We know that we have Jesus with us, so we should not be afraid (John 14:1 & John 14:27). Without Jesus we are weak and frail, but with Jesus our hands can be strong, and He will help us to fulfill His will in our lives!

Peace and love, Joy Cleveland and,
Grace and truth, Charity Cleveland

Leave a Reply

